Becoming a Full-Time Vagrant

Hiking Mt. Tzouhalem

Hiking Mt. Tzouhalem with the family

Some people are stuck with this weird idea that a proper life involves having a job and, you know, a home. I say “to hell with that mess!” Last week I left my job and moved out of my apartment in preparation for my trip.

My goal was simple: reduce all my worldly possessions down to just what could fit in my car, give up my apartment and my desk job, and park that car full of stuff at my dad’s house. It was a lot of work but I’m happy to say Mission Accomplished (and not in the George Bush sort of way).

Living on couches for the past week has been amazing and I’ve already done more interesting things than I probably did in the six months previous. I’ve hiked a couple mountains, spent loads of time with my entire immediate family and still managed a ton of personal time to work on crazy projects.

This certainly wouldn’t be a lifestyle for everybody, and you have to work for a long time to set yourself up to pull it off, but I would recommend giving it a try if you have the chance.

Have you ever seriously considered taking some time off from real life?

Leave a Reply

